The Bishop Line Community Rail Partnership – a rail line for everyone

The Bishop Line is the railway line which runs between Darlington and Bishop Auckland. The service is designated by the Department for Transport as Community Rail.

With six stations along the line, including Darlington’s main line station, the Bishop Line serves commuters, shoppers and day travellers alike.

Starting in Bishop Auckland; home of Auckland Castle, the line takes in the beautiful scenery of Shildon, Newton Aycliffe, Heighington, Darlington – North Road, then ends at Darlington’s main station – Bank Top. Beyond Darlington the line continues as the Tees Valley line to Saltburn via Eaglescliffe, Middlesbrough and Redcar.

To download an A4 colour pdf about the Bishop Line, The Community Rail Partnership and its achievements click on the link below.

Bishop Line Leaflet (1mb)